Posted on

Georg Graewe / Damon Smith / Michael Vatcher trio record for nuscope

On Friday, February 2nd, 2018, Georg Graewe, Damon Smith, and Michael Vatcher recorded at Oktaven Audio in Mt. Vernon, New York for the next nuscope recordings release, due this coming September.

This is our 20th anniversary recording, and hearkens back to the great sessions in Germany in 1995 that provided the music for Subsymbolism and Impressions of Monk with Vatcher, Graewe, and bassist Marcio Mattos.

The resulting music is very different, with a more taut rhythmic feel, a pronounced lyricism, and fresh improvisational directions.

Posted on

nuscope’s top 10 of 2017

We agree with the Free Jazz blog – it was a great year for the music! All of the supposed political roadblocks, populism, and discouragements have not stopped creativity; in fact, it has obviously fed it!

Here is the label’s top 10 for the year in no particular order:

  • Chamber 4 – City of Light (Clean Feed)
  • Risser/Duboc/Perraud – Generation (Dark Tree)
  • Arve Henriksen – Towards Language (Rune Grammofon)
  • Walter/Butcher/Smith – The Catastrophe Of Minimalism (Balance Point Acoustics)
  • Matt Mitchell plays Tim Berne – førage (Screwgun)
  • Aruan Ortiz – Cub(an)ism (Intakt)
  • Ballrogg – Abaft the Beam (Clean Feed)
  • Timuçin Şahin – Nothing Bad Can Happen (Between the Lines)
  • John Abercrombie Quartet – Up and Coming (ECM)
  • Michael Attias Quartet – Nerve Dance (Clean Feed)
Posted on

Nuscope’s Top 10 of 2016

Nuscope deemed these 10 discs as favorites of 2016 outside of the label:
Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith – a cosmic rhythm with each stroke (ECM)
Sebastian Lexer and Steve Noble – Muddy Ditch (Fataka)
Dominique Pifarely Quartet – Trace Provisioire (ECM)
Ingrid Laubrock – Serpentines (Intakt)
Evan Parker with Mark Nauseef and Toma Gouband – as the wind (Psi)
Christian Wallumrød Ensemble – Kurzsam and Fulger (Hubro)
Angelika Niescier and Florian Weber – NYC Five (Intakt)
Illegal Crowns – Illegal Crowns (Rogue Art)
Ned Rothenberg, Mark Feldman, and Sylvie Courvoisier – In Cahoots (Clean Feed)
John Lindberg BC3 – Born in an Urban Ruin (Clean Feed)

Posted on

Nuscope’s Top 10 of 2015

Nuscope deemed these 10 discs as favorites of 2015 outside of the label:
Vijay Iyer Trio – Break Stuff (ECM)
Arve Henriksen – The Nature of Connections (Rune Grammofon)
Benoît Delbecq 3 – Ink (Clean Feed)
Kris Davis Infrasound – Save Your Breath (Clean Feed)
Stefano Battaglia Trio – In The Morning (ECM)
Henry Threadgill Zooid – In for a Penny, in for a Pound (Pi Recordings)
Wayne Horvitz – Some Places Are Forever Afternoon (Songlines)
Samuel Blaser Quartet – Spring Rain (Whirlwind)
Michel Wintsch – Roof Fool (hatOLOGY)
Ingrid Laubrock Anti-House – Roulette of the Cradle (Intakt)

Posted on

Achim Kaufmann wins the Albert Mangelsdorff Prize

Achim Kaufmann has won a major prize in Germany!

This year, pianist Achim Kaufmann will be awarded the prestigious Albert Mangelsdorff Prize in Germany. According to the Berlin Buhnen website:

Pianist Achim Kaufmann will be awarded the Albert-Mangelsdorff-Preis, which is bestowed biannually by the Union of German Jazz Musicians and includes prize money of 15,000 Euros. The award is donated by the GEMA-Foundation, the Society for the Administration of Neighbouring Rights (GVL) and the Promotion- and Support Fund of the German Composers’ Association.

“For many years, Achim Kaufmann has been one of the most inspiring and exciting personalities of the European jazz and improvisation scene. His music bears witness to great harmonic subtlety and structural depth. A brilliant pianist and composer, his reflected exploration of tradition has led him to a nuanced, contemporary sound language that encompasses poetry, energy and abstraction in equal measure.”
-Julia Neupert, member of the jury

Posted on

Nuscope’s Top 10 of 2014

Nuscope deemed these 10 discs as favorites of 2014 outside of the label (in no particular order):
Louis Sclavis Quartet – Silk And Salt Melodies (ECM)
Mark Turner Quartet – Lathe of Heaven (ECM)
Sylvie Courvoisier Trio – Double Windsor (Tzadik)
Matthieu Donarier and Albert van Veenendaal – The Visible Ones (Clean Feed)
Nels Cline and Julian Lage – room (Mack Avenue)
Kent Carter, Gianni Lenoci, and Bill Elgart – Plaything (No Business)
Steve Lehman Octet – Mise en Abîme (Pi Recordings)
Equilibrium – Liquid Light (Songlines)
Jimmy Giuffre 3 & 4 – New York Concerts (Elemental Music)
Bill Frisell, Carol Emanuel, and Kenny Wolleson – In Lambeth and Testament of Solomon (Tzadik)